Welcome to the Public Holidays New Zealand website! We hope the information provided here will help you plan your leave, holidays, rest, and time with family. Please do let us know if you see anything that needs updating!

Public holidays in New Zealand are special days off provided to employees by law, in addition to annual leave. There are 1o national public holidays celebrated each year, plus one anniversary day celebrated by each province.

Some public holidays always fall on a weekday. However for Christmas Day and New Years Day, these public holidays are transferable to the following Monday if the actual date falls on a weekend.

Public Holidays 2014

1 JanuaryWednesdayNew Year's Day
2 JanuaryThursdayDay after New Year's Day
20 JanuaryMondaySouthland Anniversary Day
20 JanuaryMondayWellington Anniversary Day
27 JanuaryMondayAuckland Anniversary Day
3 FebruaryMondayNelson Anniversary Day
6 FebruaryThursdayWaitangi Day
10 MarchMondayTaranaki Anniversary Day
24 MarchMondayOtago Anniversary Day
18 AprilFridayGood Friday
21 AprilMondayEaster Monday
25 AprilFridayANZAC Day
2 JuneMondayQueen's Birthday
22 SeptemberMondayCanterbury (South) Anniversary Day
24 OctoberFridayHawkes' Bay Anniversary Day
27 OctoberMondayLabour Day
3 NovemberMondayMarlborough Anniversary Day
14 NovemberFridayCanterbury Anniversary Day
1 DecemberMondayChatham Islands
1 DecemberMondayWestland Anniversary Day
25 DecemberThursdayChristmas Day
26 DecemberFridayBoxing Day

Public Holidays 2015

1 JanuaryThursdayNew Year's Day
2 JanuaryFridayDay after New Year's Day
19 JanuaryMondaySouthland Anniversary Day
19 JanuaryMondayWellington Anniversary Day
26 JanuaryMondayAuckland Anniversary Day
2 FebruaryMondayNelson Anniversary Day
6 FebruaryFridayWaitangi Day
9 MarchMondayTaranaki Anniversary Day
23 MarchMondayOtago Anniversary Day
3 AprilFridayGood Friday
6 AprilMondayEaster Monday
25 AprilSaturdayANZAC Day
1 JuneMondayQueen's Birthday
28 SeptemberMondayCanterbury (South) Anniversary Day
23 OctoberFridayHawkes' Bay Anniversary Day
26 OctoberMondayLabour Day
2 NovemberMondayMarlborough Anniversary Day
13 NovemberFridayCanterbury Anniversary Day
3o NovemberMondayChatham Islands
3o NovemberMondayWestland Anniversary Day
25 DecemberFridayChristmas Day
28 DecemberMondayBoxing Day
Set your Twitter account name in your settings to use the TwitterBar Section.